Picture of Hi Joyce, I am an international student. How do I get in the track team at network rail? Any tips?

Hi Joyce, I am an international student. How do I get in the track team at network rail? Any tips?

Picture of Joyce
6 responses
Start new discussionBrowse other categories

ELOCHUKWU C. asked a question to Joyce B.

Category: Internal career mobility

Date asked: Tuesday, June 4, 2024

Last reviewed: Tuesday, June 4, 2024

Picture of Joyce B.

Joyce B.

Track Maintenance Apprentice

Hi Elochukwu, there are various ways to get into a track team at Network Rail. I got in through the Level 3 Apprenticeship scheme (which I believe is currently closed at the moment - you can register interest for the November 2024 intake online). However there are a range of disciplines that work on track such as S&T and E&P. In order to access any of these i'd suggest reading up on what they do and finding out what you may be more interested in doing. Apply for as many operative roles within your area, starting at an operative level will provide you with all the basics and knowledge you will need for the job and if you chose to progress further as a technician, team leader etc :)

Tuesday, June 4, 2024

ELOCHUKWU C.

I worked with Dubai metro as a track technician for 2.5 years before moving to the UK to further my education in logistics. I have the experience. Just hoping it counts for something. Do they sponsor international students?

Tuesday, June 4, 2024

Picture of Joyce B.

Joyce B.